We are pleased to reveal the winners of the FT Innovative Lawyers North America Awards 2023, celebrating innovation in the legal industry.

The awards event took place at Gotham Hall, New York on December 4, hosted by FT Live in association with research partner RSGI.

There are three strands: individuals, law firms and in-house legal teams.


Innovative practitioner

Danny Tobey, DLA Piper

Change Maker

Danielle Benecke, Baker McKenzie

Law firms

Most innovative law firm in North America

Latham & Watkins

Most digital law firm in North America

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe

Special achievement award

Hugh Verrier, White & Case

cyber security & data protection

King & Spalding

access to justice & civil rights

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius

energy transition

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman

healthcare & life sciences

Porzio, Bromberg & Newman

deals & financing

Sullivan & Cromwell


DLA Piper

Supreme Court

Hogan Lovells

people & skills development

Mayer Brown

digital solutions

Kirkland & Ellis

knowledge & data

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe


Most innovative in-house legal team in North America

Liberty Mutual

Legal Department: Sustainability & impact


Legal Department: People & skills

DXC Technology

Legal Department: Commercial & strategic advice

General Motors

Legal Department: Operations


Legal Department: Outside counsel management

Liberty Mutual

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2024. All rights reserved.
Reuse this content (opens in new window) CommentsJump to comments section

Follow the topics in this article


Comments have not been enabled for this article.